RSS

A childhood favourite – Loh Mai Gai (糯米鸡)

12 Apr

Growing up in KL, Malaysia, I have fond memories of the Pau man coming by our house in a bike, loaded with steamed buns (pau) with all sorts of fillings. Mum would often buy us some for our breakfast the following day, and she’d ask us what we want. I usually have moods for what I feel like having the next day, and some times, I choose to have the loh mai gai, which is glutinous rice with chicken.

We can’t find much of it here in Perth, I’ve only seen it at one of the stalls down at Spencer Village. The “loh mai gai” we get here is at the dim sum places, and its the Hong Kong (i guess) style, which comes wrapped in lotus leaf. So, when I felt like having some good old, brown coloured, non lotus leaf wrapped loh mai gai, I said to myself “I should try and make it myself”. So off I went to Dr. G, and I found some recipes. (I usually look up a few to compare ingredients, processes etc. and choose 1 that I can use/adapt).

So I found a recipe from Pig Pigs Corner. I used it as a reference for rice:water ratio, and also the steps involved. The others (ie amount of ingredients, sauces, flavorings etc.) was done pretty much by estimation and “feel” 😛

So 1st step was to prepare the ingredients. Soak the glutinous rice and the chinese mushrooms overnight. Also, you can marinade the chicken overnight, but I just let mine sit for about an hour. Marinate the chicken with garlic, oyster sauce, dark soy sauce, soy sauce and some soy sauce (basically the same as the rice seasoning)

The next day, put the seasoning for the rice – chicken stock, soy sauce, oyster sauce, shaoxing wine, sasame oil and dark soy sauce into a bowl with the rice and let it steam for about 15 minutes.

glutinous rice loh mai gai

When the liquid is all soaked up by the rice, place the chinese sausages (lap cheong) on top of the rice, and let it steam for another 20 minutes or so (or until the rice is cooked).

Loh Mai Gai Lap Cheong Chinese Sausage

While the rice is steaming, prepare the other ingredients. Slice the mushrooms and fry them off. Then fry the chicken until its cooked through.

Loh Mai Gai Stir fry chicken and mushrooms

After the rice is done, remove it from the steamer. Then its time to assemble it. start with greasing some rice bowls (we didn’t have many, so I used ramekins instead). Then divide up the chicken, mushrooms and sliced lap cheong among the bowls. Then pack in the cooked glutinous rice and put it back into the steamer for another 30 minutes.

Assembling loh mai gai sticky rice

Steam Loh mai gai

When its done, overturn it onto a plate, and voila! utterly satisfying! 😀 A bit more laborious than the usual loh mai fan (糯米饭) I make, but oh so satisfying! 🙂

Glutinous chicken rice loh mai gai

(NB: Excuse the slightly grainy iPod pics, as our resident photographer was a bit busy last weekend!)

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2011 in Malaysian, Savoury

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “A childhood favourite – Loh Mai Gai (糯米鸡)

  1. Lai Meng

    April 12, 2011 at 11:40 am

    I’m imagining that it tasted real good 🙂
    Suggest adding pork. The fats from the pork will ‘smoothen’ the ‘loh mei gai’

     
  2. debbie

    April 16, 2011 at 10:14 am

    never call me to take pics for u 😦 but thanks for the samples!!! it was legen-wait for it…DARY!!!

     
  3. crystarr

    April 16, 2011 at 11:13 am

    Mum: Yes, next time we can try pork…but then it won’t be called lor mai kai anymore would it?

    Deb: Yes, we should have! 😦 next time we know…it’s not like you live 5 mins away you know 😛

     
  4. Obama care bill

    August 3, 2013 at 11:43 am

    Hi to every single one, it’s really a fastidious for me to pay a visit this web site, it consists of important Information.

     

Leave a Reply

 
